March 24, 2015

You are here

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Approved 4-28-15





MARCH 24, 2015

3:15-5:00 P.M.



Present: President Simon,J. Youatt, M. Baba, M. Chaddock (for J. Baker), E. Bank, K. Bartig, T. Bitner, R. Caldwell, S. Carter, G. Chao, J. Christensen, D. Clark, M. Crimp, E. Crockett-Torabi, T. Curry, P. David, W. Davidson, P. Dickson, J. Dudziak, R. Edozie, D. Estry, A. Faulkner, G. Fink, J. Forger, K. Forrest, J. Francese, J. Gaboury, J. Wagner (for S. Gupta), S. Hanson, L. Harris, D. Heller, C. Alsup (for J. Howarth), P. Hunt (for S. Hsu), C. Jackson-Elmoore, S. Jaksa, L. Kempel, K. Klomparens, N. Lafferty, X. Liu, M. Manning, D. Maybank, L. McCabe, E. McCallum, B. Miller, D. Moriarty, D. Nails, M. Nair, M. Noel, A. Ogren, R. Opoczynski, J. Palac, J. Porter, J. Powell, S. Printy, M. Raven, L. Robinson, J. Rosa, J. Schwartz, R. Sebree, J. Sherry, R. LaDuca (for E. Simmons), S. Smidt, R. Smith, C. Smith, L. Sochay, W. Spielman, B. Sternquist, M. Sticklen, G. Riegle (for W. Strampel), E. Strauss, A. Susarla, C. Taggart, D. Uekert, C. Waters, L. Wei, S. Yoder,  B. Zandstra

Absent: R. Abramovitch, A. Anderson, M. Becker, B. Beyett, N. Bunge, G. Burns, M. Chavez, D. Clemons, J. Conwell, A. Dickerson, W. Donohue, J. Edwards, S. Esquith, J. Ewing, H. Fitzgerald, M. Floer, P. Floyd, C. Gall, S. Garnett, C. Gelbke, D. Grooms, K. Gumm, C. Haka, J. Hauptman, G. Howe, R. Hula, A. Kalis, R. Kirkpatrick, C. Loelius, P. Lombardo, G. Lossia, K. Maass, R. Maleczka, J. Maurer, M. Maxwell, E. Moore, M. Mundt, A. Paganini, J. Porter, F. Poston, D. Prestel, M. Rappley, F. Ravitch, D. Rayl, A. Reed, N. Rovig, F. Salem, K. Samra, N. Schroeder, D. Sinistaj, A. Stevenson, Torrez, C. Traister, J. Turner, K. Vaninsky, C. Vermeesch, G. Walker, J. Walton, M. Worden, J. Young

1.  Call to Order: 3:15 p.m.

2.  Approval of Agenda for March 24, 2015

Approved as presented.

3.  Public Comments  


4.  Approval of Draft Minutes for February 24, 2015

Approved as presented.

5.  President’s Remarks –  Lou Anna K. Simon

Budget: The Michigan budget issues are in a holding pattern until the May election.  On the Federal level, it is important to note the decrease in funding for the Pell Grant Program and the pressures being applied to research funding. 

Sexual Assault Task Force:  The group is updating the President on the current status and the next steps for the direction of policy, and recommendations concerning the task force.

Community Gatherings: The President expressed concern over celebratory events related to this time of year.  The Celebrations Committee continually urges responsibility by participants in these events, asking them to be cognizant of the University’s commitment to social justice.

6.  Provost’s Remarks – June Youatt

The Concept of the T-Student: Provost Youatt introduced Dean of Undergraduate Studies, Douglas Estry, who explained that the vertical line in the T represents students’ knowledge of their discipline and the horizontal line represents other needs of the students to support their success, e.g., team-building, communication, collaboration, and the ability to contribute to an organization.  Employers are interested in programs that prepare T-shaped students during their undergraduate education.  These programs have strong support from the business community.

7.  The Steering Committee Chairperson’s Remarks – Professor Deborah Moriarty

University Committee on Academic Governance: The Committee is calling for volunteers from the Faculty Senate to fill three seats for the 2015-17 periods.  Interested persons should submit their name to the Office of the Secretary for Academic Governance.

Election Results: The Chair-elect of the Steering Committee for 2015-16 is Professor Mary Noel.  The Vice-Chair is Professor Martin Crimp.

8.  Healthy Campus Initiative – Gregory Holzman, M.D., Director of Healthy Campus Initiative, and Chairperson Deborah Moriarty

Guideline for a discussion of the Healthy Campus Initiative (HCI) were distributed.  Dr. Holzman presented an overview of background of the HCI and its focus and direction for the future.  Following his presentation, members of the Council divided into small groups and discussed specific questions established for the HCI discussion, i.e., how can I support the initiative? What are the big topics that should be included as the focus of our attention?  The discussion groups reported the highlights of their individual discussions.  The HCI will integrate the comments, continuing to promote a healthy campus.

9.  General Student Regulations – Revisions – Kristine Zayko, General Council

The General Student Regulations that reflect behavioral expectations for University students have not been updated since 1988.  A subcommittee of UCFA spent a number of months reviewing the document to bring it up to date.  A major addition includes explicit references to hazing, bullying, and domestic violence, and clarification of the specific definitions of these terms.  It is important to note that our programs must remain in accordance with state and federal laws.

Motion to approve the recommended changes, seconded and approved.

10. Integrity of Scholarship and Grades – Cynthia Taggart, Chairperson, University Committee on Undergraduate Education.

Recommended changes to the Integrity of Scholarship and Grades proposal were identified for discussion.

11. Motion to adjourn: seconded and approved at 4:38 p.m.

Committee Meeting Date: 
Tuesday, March 24, 2015 - 3:15pm
Committee Type: 
Minutes Status :