April 28, 2015

You are here

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Approved 9-22-15





APRIL 28, 2015 - 3:15-5:00 P.M.


Present:  Provost Youatt, J. Baker, K. Bartig, T. Bitner, N. Bunge, G. Burns, R. Caldwell, G. Chao, M. Chavez, D. Clemons, J. Conwell, M. Crimp, P. David, W. Donohue, J. Dudziak, S. Esquith, G. Fink, P. Floyd, J. Gaboury, J. Wagner (for S. Gupta), A. Weismantel (for C. Haka), A. Adekson (for S. Hanson), M. Sedlak for (D. Heller), C. Alsup (for J. Howarth), G. Howe, P. Hunt (for S. Hsu), S. Jaksa, A. Kalis, T. Wolff (for L. Kempel), R. Kirkpatrick, K. Klomparens, N. Lafferty, X. Liu, K. Maass, M. Manning, D. Maybank, L. McCabe, E. McCallum, R. Miller, E. Moore, T. Wehrwein (for M. Mundt), D. Nails, M. Nair, M. Noel, R. Opoczynski, J. Palac, J. Porter, K. Millenbah (for F. Poston), J. Powell, S. Printy, L. Robinson, F. Salem, K. Samra, R. Sebree, D. Prestel (for E. Simmons), D. Sinistaj, C. Smith, L. Sochay, W. Spielman, B. Sternquist, W. Strampel, A. Susarla, C. Taggart, D. Uekert, C. Vermeesch, J. Walton, L. Wei, M. Worden, S. Yoder, B. Zandstra

Absent: Present Simon, R. Abramovitch, A. Anderson, M. Baba, E. Bank, M. Becker, B. Beyett, S. Carter, J. Christensen, D. Clark, E. Crockett-Torabi, T. Curry, W. Davidson, A. Dickerson, R. Edozie, J. Edwards, D. Estry, J. Ewing, A. Faulkner, H. Fitzgerald, M. Floer, J. Forger, K. Forrest, J. Francese, C. Gall, S. Garnett, C. Gelbke, D. Grooms, K. Gumm, L. Harris, J. Hauptman, R. Hula, S. Jaksa, X. Liu, C. Loelius, P. Lombardo, G. Lossia, R. Maleczka, J. Maurer, M. Maxwell, B. Miller, D. Moriarty, A. Ogren, A. Paganini, M. Rappley, M. Raven, F. Ravitch, A. Reed, N. Rovig, N. Schroeder, J. Schwartz, J. Sherry, S. Smidt, R. Smith, A. Stevenson, M. Sticklen, E. Strauss, J. E. Torrez, C. Traister, J. Turner, K. Vaninsky, G. Walker, C. Waters J. Young

 1.  CALL TO ORDER at 3:15

 2.  Approval of Agenda for April 28, 2015

Approved as amended, removing items 10 and 12.

 3.  Public Comments - None

 4.  Approval of Draft Minutes for March 24, 2015

Approved as presented.

 5.  President’s Remarks –  Lou Anna K. Simon – out of town

 6.  Provost’s Remarks – June Youatt

Provost Youatt thanked all members for all the work done this year, especially the committee chairs for their leadership in completing the work of the past year.  It was a very productive year with many accomplishments.  She also acknowledged Deborah Moriarty and the entire Steering Committee for their commitment and thanked John Powell, Interim Secretary for Academic Governance, and the Academic Governance Staff for their support for the work of governance. She also thanked the students for all their accomplishments.

 7.  The Steering Committee Chairperson’s Remarks

Professor Deborah Moriarty thanked everyone for coming and thanked the senators for their participation and support during the year.  She thanked all the at-large members of the Steering committee, Mary Noel, who has been elected President for 2015-2016, Martin Crimp, the new Vice President, Miriam Sticklen, who was re-elected to the Committee, and Bill Davidson, current Vice President, for their dedication and leadership.

 8.  University Committee on Faculty Affairs (UCFA) – A Revised Background Check Policy Recommendation

Chairperson Phyllis Floyd asked for voice for John Bell to speak on behalf of the Committee.  Voice granted.  Dr. Bell presented the recommendation that background checks be extended to all faculty who hold appointments at MSU.  The recommendation includes a requirement for disclosure of the same types of incidents disclosed during the initial check if such incidents occurred after the original background check. Also, in the event that incidents become known that were not identified in the original background check, the University reserves the right to initiate a further background check.

    1. The Council recommended that the policy include language that allows for issues arising as a result of these procedures to be addressed according to existing procedures for faculty discipline and dismissal. 
    2. The Council recommended that that the policy language include “privileged or employed by a health care system where background checks are done”.

 9.  University Committee on Undergraduate Education (UCUE) - Grief Absence Policy Recommendation

Chairperson Cynthia Taggart asked for voice to Matt Pontifex – voice granted.  Professor Pontifex outlined the rationale and development for the policy.  The current recommendation is the result of four years of discussion within the various committee and constituencies.  These deliberations have produced the following recommendation: “For undergraduate and master’s (Plan B) students without research responsibilities, it is the responsibility of the student to: a) notify the Associate Dean or designee of their college of the need for a grief absence in a timely manner, but no later than one week from the student’s initial knowledge of the situation, b) provide appropriate verification of the grief absence as specified by the Associate Dean, and c) complete all missed work as determined in consultation with the instructor”. Motion to support the policy carried. Provost Youatt thanked all involved for a successful four-year endeavor.

10. Sexual Assault Task Force and the Relationship Violence and Sexual Misconduct (RVSM) e-Learning Video

Paulette Granberry Russell, Office for Inclusion and Senior Advisor to the President, provided an update on policy development and implementation.  At present, about 53% of the faculty have completed their training.  The expectation is that all MSU employees will have completed the training by June 30, 2015.

11. Provost Youatt thanked Tom Wolff for his service as Associate Dean of Engineering. 

She said that Karen Klomparens will be transitioning out of her role as Dean of the Graduate School; her leadership was instrumental in developing the graduate school at MSU and its ability to achieve the high standards of excellence it now enjoys.

12. Adjourned at 3:56

Committee Meeting Date: 
Tuesday, April 28, 2015 - 3:15pm
Committee Type: 
Minutes Status :