April 22, 2014

You are here

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Approved 9-23-14






Tuesday, April 22, 2014

3:15 p.m., 115 International Center

President Simon, Provost Youatt, A. Addrow-Pierson, M. Baba, E. Bank, D. Banks, J. Barnett, K. Bartig, M. Becker, C. Borchgrevink, C. Brown, R. Caldwell, S. Carter, B. Chakrani, D. Clark, J. Conwell, E. Crockett-Torabi, T. Curry, N. DeJoy, P. Dickson, W. Donohue, J. Dudziak, R. Edozie, S. Esquith, A. Faulkner, M. Ferkany, S. Fletcher, D. Foran, K. Forrest, J. Gaboury, X. Gao, E. Gardner, B. Lynch (for C. Gelbke), M. Goheen, C. Haka, M. Sedlak (for D. Heller), C. Alsup (for J. Howarth), P. Hunt (for S. Hsu), M. Huebner, G. Jackson, C. Jackson-Elmoore, M. Jacobs, K. Klomparens, S. Lacy, J. Leacher, J. Wagner (for S. Lenway), R. Maleczka, J. Maurer, D. Maybank, P. Menchik, H. Mooney, D. Moriarty, T. Wehrwein (for M. Mundt), M. Noel, D. Pathak, K. Millenbah (for F. Poston), M. Reida, L. Robinson, L. Robison, F. Salem, R. LaDuca (for E. Simmons), P. Simon, W. Strampel, A. Susarla, S. Teahan, C. Vermeesch, F. Villarruel, C. Wiebrecht, J. Wright, D. Prestel (for K. Wurst), J. Youatt

ABSENT:  C. Bolin, S. Carey, E. Charles, M. Chavez, D. Clemons, C. Coursaris, W. Davidson, T. Davis, D. Dewitt, S. Dorsey-Walker, J. Dunn, D. Estry, H. Fitzgerald, J. Forger, B. Fraser, S. Garnett, Y. Gonzalez, K. Greenwalt, D. Grooms, E. Hackert, S. Hanson, J. Hines, H. Hughes, M. Kasavana, L. Kempel, R. Kirkpatrick, B. Kleinerman, M. Koot, C. Manitowabi, J. Mauer, L. McCabe, D. Mendez, B. Miller, S. Moukalled, M. Nair, D. Quiroga, M. Rappley, J. Reifenberg, A. Rice, G. Roloff, N. Rovig, N. Rudolph, M. Shapiro, D. Sinistaj, M. Sticklen, C. Taggart, R. Tate, S. Tekalur, C. Traister, J. Turner, T. Vogelsang, J. Walton, C. Waters, S. Watts, N. Willgus, M. Worden

The meeting began at 3:25 p.m. with a full quorum.   

Approval of Agenda:
The agenda was approved as distributed.

Public Comments:
There were no public comments.

Approval of Minutes:
The minutes for March 25, 2014 were approved as distributed.

President’s Remarks:
The President reported the University Budget is pending waiting for formal action by the Legislature.  The range is between 5 to 6%. The appropriation in that range produces revenue for the University of about 4%.  UCFA reported a decline in the University’s competitive position in respect to faculty salaries.  The planning process has been taking places in all of the Colleges and there have been many needs identified.

The Diversity Report was presented at the last BOT meeting.  The President reported that the decision by the Supreme Court regarding Proposal II, Affirmative Action Proposal, at Michigan was handed down.  There will not be a dramatic change as a result of the Court so it will not affect what MSU has been doing.  The University’s position urges that care be taken to assure that inclusion is part of MSU’s value. 

President announced the appointment of Professor Youatt as the new Provost of the University.  The President also thanked Professor Carter for her leadership in Academic Governance and for being a voice in COIA.

Provost’s Remarks:
Professor Youatt acknowledged her excitement about the direction of the University and thanked the faculty for their work this year.  The Provost announced that Professor Steve Hansen was named Dean for International Studies and Programs.

The Steering Committee Chairperson’s Remarks:
Professor Carter welcomed Professor Youatt as the new Provost.  Professor Carter reported that Professor Moriarty will be the new Chairperson and Professor Davidson will be the Vice Chairperson of the Steering Committee next year.

Final Draft of Law Students Rights and Responsibilities:
Professor Gardner, Chairperson of UCGS, presented the final draft of the Law Students Rights and Responsibilities.  Following a brief discussion, a motion was passed approving the document.

Final Draft of the Graduate Student Rights and Responsibilities:
Professor Gardner, Chairperson of UCGS, presented the final draft of the Graduate Student Rights and Responsibilities.  Following a brief discussion, a motion was passed approving the document.

Changes to 21st Century Theses:
Professor Gardner, Chairperson of UCGS, presented the changes to the 21st Century Theses.  A motion was passed to add to the Academic Program Catalog.  Following discussion, a motion was passed to approve the document.

Revisions to the AFR:
Jessica Leacher, UCSA Chairperson, reviewed the proposed changes to the Academic Freedom for Students at MSU.  Following some discussion, a motion was passed to approve the document.

Presentation on 20/20 Plan:
Stephen Troost, Campus Planner of the Infrastructure Planning and Facilities, presented an update on the 20/20 Planning.  Please refer to the Governance web site.

New Business:
There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 5:01 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jacqueline Wright signature

Jacqueline Wright
Secretary for Academic Governance



Tapes of complete meetings of the Academic Council are available for review in the office of the Secretary for Academic Governance, W32 Owen Graduate Hall, 355-2337.

Committee Meeting Date: 
Tuesday, April 22, 2014 - 3:25pm
Committee Type: 
Minutes Status :